Workers Party announces party list for 2008 election

– Workers Party media release

Contesting the party list vote for the first time this election, anti-capitalist group the Workers Party has today named 14 candidates who will be standing on its party list.

“Our main campaign slogan for these elections is ‘workers should be running the country!’ and this is certainly reflected in our list of candidates,” says Workers Party national organiser Tim Bowron.

“All of our candidates are proven fighters whose only loyalty is to the working class who create all of the wealth in society – not the parasitical boss class that currently consumes most of it.”

Heading the list is Wellington factory worker and well-known musician Don Franks, who is also standing in the Wellington Central electorate.

Other candidates to feature prominently on the list include union organiser and Manukau East candidate Daphna Whitmore, schoolteacher and Christchurch East candidate Paul Hopkinson (currently suspended without pay by his employer for challenging the restrictions on public servants running for parliament) and Wellington Tramways Union President Nick Kelly.

Full List:

1. Don Franks (Wellington Central)

2. Daphna Whitmore (Manukau East)

3. Nick Kelly (list only)

4. Paul Hopkinson (Christchurch East)

5. Byron Clark (Christchurch Central)

6. Jasmine Freemantle (list only)

7. Rebecca Broad (list only)

8. Tim Bowron (list only)

9. Jen Isle (list only)

10. Heleyni Pratley (list only)

11. Joel Cosgrove (list only)

12. Marika Pratley (list only)

13. Josh Glue (list only)

14. Nick Scullin (list only)

Profiles of all these candidates are available here.

%d bloggers like this: